Parvenets has a strategic situation on the Varlishtitsa River and lies at only 10 km to the south of Plovdiv. It borders the villages of Markovo, Brestovica, Hrabrino and the city of Plovdiv. The village is situated at an altitude of 433m.
Parvenets has a rich history. From the Antiquity and the Middle Ages and especially during the Bulgarian National Revival the village is a center of rich economic and cultural life.
According to the legend and the historical data, the village of Parvenets had come into existence long before Bulgaria fell under Turkish rule. When it originally came into being, the village took the name of Varleshte, after the river.
There were 24 water-mills (dermendji) along the river, serving the nearby villages and the Turks named the village Dermendere.
The church in the village was burnt during the Liberation of Bulgaria in 1878, and restored in 1880. In 1994 was burnt again and plundered. Presently construction activities are on the way for its restoration.
The village holiday, kukeri, mummers, is celebrated on the first Sunday before Lent. The people dressed in kukeri costumes, wearing masks and sheep bells symbolically represent the chasing away of the evil spirits. On that day forgiveness is begged from relatives and acquaintances. The holiday ends with lively “horo” dances. The patron saint’s day of the village is the day of St. Constantine and St. Helena.
Today Parvenets has preserved and developed the traditional occupations in the village – market gardening and viticulture. (from the book “Municipality Rodopy”. Vion Publishers)
the main photo is taken from http://www.rodopi-bg.org